Bill Murray wins the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

Bill Murray wins the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

On Sunday, at the Kennedy Center ceremony, actor Bill Murray was awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. At 66 years-old, Bill Murray is one of the many former Saturday Night Live performers to receive the famous award. He has starred in movies like “Groundhog Day,” “Ghostbusters” and “Rushmore”, making everybody laugh at his spontaneous jokes and quirky personality.

Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

After Bill Murray accepted the award, he said that he owns his success to his loving family and to those close friends he has worked with for years. They have provided him with unconditional love and endless inspiration. He has had a long carrier, acting for over 40 years. But as the entertainer we all know and love, Murray gave the audience his Mark Twain bust. He then told them to pass it around the hall. The actor was also the one who closed the entire show, by singing “Sweet Home Chicago” in his own version.

Bill Murray is known to not have been affected by the Hollywood fame. He even admitted that it is bizarre for him to just sit there and listen to so many people praising him. In his funny way, he called this act “suspicious”. He also thanked his older brother, Brian Doyle-Murray, who was the one who helped him start his comedian career.

David Letterman honored him

A close friend of Murray, David Letterman came up on the stage and spoke a few words about his longtime friend. Letterman’s late-night show ended last summer. The television host told a story to the audience, while honoring one if his best friends in the industry.

But there were many other people present who wanted to say a word or two bout Bill Murray’s incredible career. Among them, Jimmy Kimmel, Aziz Ansari, Sigourney Weaver and Steve Martin. They said jokes in the characteristic manner, while praising or even roasting Murray. But they all said that they love him very much.

The long career of Bill Murray

Among the previous winners of the Mark Twain Award are George Carlin, Lily Tomlin, Neil Simon, Tina Fey, Will Ferrell or Eddie Murphy. Bill Murray is one of the best comedy actors in the world, beginning his career on Saturday Night Live. He acted on the comedy show from 1977 to 1980. Murray was nominated for an Academy Award for his amazing portrayal of an actor in Sofia Coppola’s “Lost in Translation”. He has also won two Emmy Awards.

Over the weekend, the actor got to meet president Barrack Obama. Bill Murray is a unique individual. He is known to not have a publicist or an agent. The comedian is also a very shy person. He even said when he accepted the prize that all this show surrounding his award makes him uncomfortable.

The Mark Twain Award for American Humor was first awarded in 1998. It is awarded every year to someone who has been influencing the world in the same manner that Mark Twain (or Samuel Clemens, which is his real name) has.

Image source: here